Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is an ongoing interest in independent decision-making in youngsters. Many argue that allowing children to decide in daily matters might result in a society of people who are only concerned about their desires while others believe that they must make decisions in areas that affect them. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the consideration and delineate my opinion, supported by relevant examples. To begin, one of the main reasons I believe children should be allowed to make their choices in everyday matters is it fosters autonomy. This is an ability to make one's own decisions. When youngsters choose from trivial things like what they will have for lunch and what they will wear, they build confidence in decision-making. This is an important life skill that would enable them to make complex decisions in adulthood. For example, a child is asked to decide whether to use his allowance for toys or save it. He is left to choose between enjoying the immediate benefit of having the toys and reaping the long-term dividends from having enormous savings. This experience helps him develop discretion as he ages. However, constantly deciding based on their preference can lead to a sense of entitlement. This is where they expect their wishes to be prioritized. They eventually grow up with the mindset that everyone should always meet their desires without considering people might also have needs and preferences. For instance, if a child chooses his form of entertainment, either a game to play or a TV show to watch, they often grow accustomed to always having their way. More often than not, this translates into a lack of consideration for others in group agreements. In conclusion, with the rise in evolving societal values, some people think that permitting youngsters to decide independently in everyday activities might encourage a self-centred population whilst other groups opine that it is best to always decide for themselves matters that affect them. Although making choices results in a sense of entitlement, I believe it also encourages autonomy which is an essential life value as they mature.