Social media marketing can influence what consumers buy. Do you agree or disagree? To what extent do you agree?

Since the introduction of social media applications in the early 2000’s the world has become a much smaller place. Social media applications such as Facebook, Instagram and Twitter have become information sources for a majority of the global market. As such, I would agree that marketing, which happens to be a source of facts accessible on these platforms can influence the consumers who use them. This notion is further aided by the rise in online retail stores who conduct the bulk of their transactions online. This makes it easier for the consumer to purchase from anywhere in the world. As a consumer of social media, you are constantly bombarded with advertisements of various products that are particularly designed to catch your attention. This means that most of the adverts on your news feeds aren’t random and will almost always feature something you have previously searched online or something currently popular or trending. Generally, most social media users are young consumers who are influenced by current trends and happenings these adverts will almost always catch their eye. The habit of sharing, retweeting and liking also ensures that these adverts get around, quite fast. As such, when an advert does reach your news feed you have already probably seen it on your friend’s news feed. However, the truth is, adverts are a form of information and with the age of the internet, information spreads faster than a wildfire. Therefore, it only makes sense that in the era and age of technology, globalization and the need to be trendy, social media marketing can influence what consumers buy.