Some people think that paying tax is their only duty, while others believe that we have more responsibilities towards our society. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Although, it is thoughts by some that paying taxes is the sole duty of the people, others believe that there are more necessary duties towards the welfare of the society. In my opinion, even though tax paying is the foremost responsibility of any citizen, there are also many other responsibilities which need to be addressed. On the one hand, honest and regular tax paying is their lone responsibility, according to some The paid taxes are used for the growth and development of the country as a whole. This will ultimately lead to economic growth and development of the community. Better educational and health care facilities could be provided for the masses by a suitable application of taxes. A financially strong country can provide better rail, road and air facilities along with building public institutions and infrastructure. Additional, taxes play a vital role in strengthening a country’s military and defence. On the other hand, others think that, there are a number of basic duties which must be performed for the welfare of the society. Firstly, saving fuel, electricity and water is the foremost responsibility of any citizen. It is extremely important to save these natural resources, which in turn can be made available to the poor and saved for the future. Secondly, it is necessary to support various NGO's or institutions, working directly for the welfare of various sections of the nation. The help can be monetary or may include donating books, clothes or food to the needy. Thirdly, the elders should work to impart moral and ethical values to the younger people. This can be done by encouraging children in various artistic, religious or cultural activities. Lastly, all the members of the society should keep their surroundings neat and clean, for a green and healthy society. To conclude, in addition to paying taxes, various other responsibilities such as maintaining a clean surroundings, saving resources, donations to the needy and value teaching to the young are a must for the society to flourish and prosper.