There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, students are striving to succeed academically under the high pressure of society. While some argue that school programs should be structured to only include academic subjects, I firmly believe that non-academic subjects are also essential to learning social and household skills. This essay will explore why social subjects are as important as academic courses. Non-academic courses play a vital role in learning basic social skills. If these courses are removed from the syllabus then it can be hard for the students to develop the qualities required in their everyday life. For example, subjects like physical education can teach children to respect the boundaries of privacy, and it can foster good ethics. By learning these social skills, young people can contribute efficiently to the betterment of society. Furthermore, learning skills which can help in household work is also beneficial for the youth. Although these are not considered as valuable as learning technical skills, life can be hard if these things are not learned. For instance, cooking skills are required in every household, and without these skills survival can be difficult. So, non-academic courses can help young persons to learn these underrated skills. Admittedly, students should fully concentrate on their academic work. But there should be some dedicated time to study non-academic subjects along with other courses. A good balance of both types of programs can elevate the lifestyle of the people. In conclusion, academic subjects are crucial for students to pursue their careers and achieve academic goals, but the importance of non-academic subjects cannot be neglected. A balanced program structure containing both types of subjects can be fruitful for both academic and social development.