Describe advantages and disadvantages of globalisation

Globalisation is an all-embracing term referring to the interdependence of different countries and the speeding-up of life in an array of aspects, especially transport, mass communication and technology. However, whether this ongoing phenomenon is a bane or a boon is a matter of arising controversy. From my viewpoint, despite possessing great merits, its adverse effects should not be overlooked. On the one hand, the significance of globalisation is the strengthened bonds between nations, especially among the developed and developing ones. Irrefutably, international groups of countries such as NATO, ASEAN and APEC are based on the grounds that member countries heavily rely on one another for its development or they have the same purposes and aims. The same holds true for multinational corporations all over the world. This interconnection acts as a precursor of alliance and solidarity on a worldwide scale, which could achieve two promising results. The first one is the narrowed gap between the affluent countries and the Third World as the exchange of knowledge, technology, cultural background is happening at a ceaseless rate. The second is the amelioration of global distressing issues such as epidemic and famine as the governments of different countries is joining hands to take corresponding action towards them. At the individual level, citizens possess more job opportunities, travel freely from one country to another, gain awareness and tolerance of other cultures and distance is no longer a barrier. On the other hand, I concede that globalisation do exert negative impacts, the most outstanding of which has to be cultural assimilation, or the loss of cultural identity. Massive international tourism and the influx of immigrants with their own styles of life and customs comes with the inevitable cost of culture modifications. For an example, In Viet Nam, many long-standing, historical buildings have been modernised to better suit the need and the interest of foreign visitors. As can be expected, cultural quintessence and the original nuances are fading away for the sake of revenues. Moreover, the dependence of impoverished nations on more wealthy ones could result in serious consequences. The developed countries may take advantage of cheap labour, exploit natural resources and most alarmingly, influence the political system in the developing countries. All in all, while the advantages of globalisation are obvious, we should not gloss over potential dangers arising from it. Be that as it may, the benefits created by it still far outweigh the disadvantages. Therefore, I believe that the flow of globalisation should not be stopped, but the local governments should adopt a cautious attitude towards it.