Some people think the main purpose of education is to make individuals useful to society; others say education helps them to achieve personal ambitions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The main aim of education is still a much-discussed topic of debate among educators. While some claim that the primary purpose of education is to train individuals becomes useful ones, others believe that it would help them fulfil their ambitions. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and give a concluding view. On the one hand, advocates of educating individuals to be useful to communities may cite the contribution of them to the economy. It is true that in this competitive world, the workforce has an important role to play in driving economic growth. An example can be seen in the case of China, the country with the highest population, dense labour markets have significantly promoted the economy’s development in the past few years, making it become top 20 most affluent countries in the world. By contrast, those who support the view that educational objective should be facilitated personal ambitions because academic knowledge assimilated at schools would give individual advantages to seek good positions in the employment market. This is because companies often have a set of criteria which they use to find the most competent employees. By acquiring knowledge during the time in schools, graduates might find an easier path to become gainfully employed. Hence, it would be inescapable that it is education’s aim to help individual chase their ambitions. To sum up, it seems advisable that the main aim of educating individuals is to facilitate their desire by finding a proper position in careers rather than to contribute to economic growth.