Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons? Solutions to change negative attitudes.

It is widely argued that global tourism has a negative impact on destination resorts and countries. While there is a strong case for this view, solutions must be applied to resolve some of the serious issues which have arisen. There are two primary reasons why local residents often consider international tourism as a cause of serious problems in their countries. One reason is that it may have an adverse impact on traditional customs and indigenous practices, because tourists may be insensitive towards the feelings of local community. For instance, some Western holidaymakers visiting developing Southeast Asian countries maybe rowdy/noisy or wear unsuitable clothes, which might have an undesirable influence on local young people who copy immodest and provocative (sexy) behaviors and fashions. Another reason is that visitors often pollute or litter beauty spots and several famous beach destinations in Vietnam such as Cua Lo and Sam Son, have been spoiled by this lack of respect for the local environment. Measures must be taken by governments and international bodies to change negative attitudes. Firstly, the undoubted economic benefits of international tourism for local economies ought to be widely promoted through official media. Foreign tourists spend money in shops and restaurants and help create jobs in service industries and this aspect must be publicized. At the same time/ besides, travel agencies should urge visitors to respect the traditions and culture of their hosts. Secondly, bodies such as World Tourism Organization must enforce strict regulations on the tourism industry, ensuring that local operators are responsible for clearing litter and disposing of waste in ways that do not harm the environment. Moreover, local authorities should launch several voluntary campaigns in which the youth in their region can get involved in doing social activities such as collecting and cleaning beaches. In conclusion, even though some people blame international tourism for the negative impacts on their local communities including traditional values and the environment, some measures could be done to address this issue in a positive change.