Doctors recommend that older people should get regular exercise. However, many older people do not take enough exercise. What could be the reasons for this? What can be done to encourage them to take exercise?

Exercise is the key to keep healthy in life as per eminent doctors. Despite this, many old youth people avoid to do work out. I believe that fear of getting injured from exercise, stop the to do it, and they can be motivated to follow a healthy life with the help of family. Firstly, there are many reasons of old generation’s people to abstain from the workout. Fear of got injured in the most promising one, because during the old age people got weaker and they also not have enough stamina to do exercise. Therefore, they may often shun from it. If old age, people got injured, it will take months to get recovered. Secondly, old aged people do not often seem to be active and they always like to procrastination with their health related jobs. For an example, my grandmother used to do evening walk, but when she got a major ankle twist. Since then she is now afraid of exercise. To solve this problem, since exercise provides uncountable benefits to the health. It is important for the elderly to overcome this fear of injury; to do this family should help them. Instead of doing heavy exercise, they should be taught light form of exercises. Such as yoga and stable cycling at home. These exercises do not push more stress on old person's muscles. They can also use gears like helmet and knee-cap while exercises. For instance - According to recent research on health in Canada, 85% older people prefer to do household chores as a means of exercises to keep them fit because this activity do not need more force and also promote joint power. To conclude- seniors are reluctant to exercise due to fear of injury. However, this can be avoided to a great extent by wearing and exercise gears and encourages them to do light exercise.