Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extend do you agree with this statement?

The Government runs various programmes and provides facilities to its citizens by spending tax money.Some believe that it should not be wasted by investing in entertainment and art industry. However, it is a contentious topic as various groups have different views regarding this. To begin with, we know there are various problems that exist in the developing and the developed countries such as hunger, shelter, health to name some.These require an urgent attention and investment so that the number of people affected by these can be severely reduced.According to the research by the experts, every year, more than 1 million people die due to starvation. Moreover, the condition of health infrastructure is much worse in developing countries where every minute a person dies as a result of the incapable health system. Therefore, the money should be spent on the rudimentary needs instead of other activities. Furthermore, instead of art and music, it can be utilized to give relief to the taxpayers, which would lower their burden and will definitely help them in improving their quality of life. This would also help in boosting the economy of the country by creating more demand since people will have more cash to spend, which would ultimately benefit entire society. For instance, a state in India decreased taxes by 40 percent and as a result the sales in various sectors were reported higher as compared to the previous quarter. Thus, benefitting entire society. To conclude, it is evident that the capital investment is not required in entertainment and art industry.In my opinion, the governments onus is to utilize money to facilitate its citizens by providing essential services and infrastructure, which will alleviate the existing problems.