In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In many developing countries nowadays, the numbers illustrate the tendency of moving to urban so populations are declining in many countryside. That leads to more consequences than positives. Firstly, migration to cities is no longer strange to developing countries. Understandably, people always want to live in amenities. For villagers, the city is the nearest target. Let's take my country as an example, Rural residents moving from other provinces account for 3.38% of the urban population. Compared to the period 2004-2009, the proportion of migration flow from rural to urban areas increased (44.2% compared to 30.5%). Meanwhile, the proportion of migration flow from urban areas to rural areas decreased from 34.0% to 14.9%. In just over 5 years, the demonstration by number changed too much. Next, the significant influx of people coming from rural areas to major cities brings about countless negative impacts on not only individuals but also the government. Not everyone will be comfortable moving abroad, not to mention they will be away from friends and family. They have to go through a lot of new relationship pressure with several possible unpleasant experiences which may cause feelings of loneliness, instability, and homesickness. Depend on economically speaking, it greatly affects the use of labour and resource exploitation. In some places, there is a surplus while in some places, there is a shortage of labour. What’s more, this also leads to causes many problems such as traffic congestion, wealth gap, theft, social evils....etc, putting more strains on cities and requiring the government to improve material facilities and increase more jobs. Another drawback that is worth noticing would be the phenomenon of brain drain. Finally, this is an unfavourable situation in the long term. Therefore, the government and each individual need to equip themselves with full awareness and willingness to overcome this unfortunate disparity.