Only government action can solve the housing shortage in big cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of typical matters of concern these days is the notion of housing shortage. Although it has been argued that only the government can resolve this problem for citizens, I totally disagree with this view for many reasons. It is clear that private real estate corporations are also a necessary driving force behind the supply of more housing. In particular, since these businesses are smaller and more active than state owns enterprises in their operation, they tend to meet housing demands faster and even more effectively. For example, in some developed countries, the middle class who are always in demanding property needs can be better catered for companies with greater customer services as well as professional teams to build luxury buildings. This contributes to an increase in the public assumption which fosters economic development. On top of that, individuals can take steps to mitigate this issue by living in the suburbs and using public transportation. To be more specific, given the relocation of factories to rural areas, workers are likely to rent house near their workplaces. As a result, there would be a plunge in the population density, which alleviates the lack of accommodation in urban areas. However, it is plausible that the government plays an important role in the social security system. What the authorities bring to the society is to provide the social housing with the financial package. For instance, Hanoi has built thousands of low-priced apartments for residents with low income, such as single parents, the elderly and other disadvantaged people. By doing so, they could be able to purchase private properties. In conclusion, I strongly believe that inadequate housing can be best solved when governments, companies and individuals work together to fulfil demands raised by the inhabitants.