Are electric cars a replacement for those powered by fossil fuels?

Electric cars are being improved in terms of technology as well as operational capability. However, many people think that using an electric car is still too much obstacle than petrol and diesel-fuelled cars at the present time. In this essay, I will explore the opinions for and against the use of electric cars and their replacement. On one hand, the cost of operating electric cars is cheaper than this of petrol and diesel-fuelled cars. Electricity is the source of renewable energy and its price is very stable while the petroleum price depends on the political situation and supply. According to calculations, the average electric car can save around 850 USD when moving with a distance of 24,000 kilometres. If we use a smart charging system, the savings amount is even higher. Therefore, operating cost is a clear advantage for anyone who owns an electric car. On the other hand, electric cars are more expensive than traditional cars. High technology always means higher product prices. Currently, electric vehicles are being applied in the most modern technology to be able to travel for long periods and accelerate quickly. Besides, the market is not large enough to make the product price cheaper. Hence, many consumers do not have enough economy to own this type of vehicle. All in all, it is evident that there are both pros and cons in the development of electric vehicles. Despite the high development costs of electric cars, I believe that the electric automotive market will also thrive in the coming time. Obviously, electric cars are a very desirable option to be expected.