Children who are brought up in families that do not have large amounts of money are better prepared to deal with the problems of adult life than children brought up by wealthy parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

While some believe that children raised in a middle-to-low income family have better abilities to cope with issues in their adult life, some think that this notion is only true for children that were raised by wealthy parents. In my opinion, I agree more with the former, due to reasons that will be discussed throughout this essay. On one end of the spectrum, it is important to mention that children who are raised with wealth might’ve had more resources to prepare them for their adult life. They could have had access to better education, life coaches, books, or even consultants to help them map out their plans for the future. Nevertheless, these children still grew up having everything served for them on a silver platter. However, the reason why I have my stance is because growing up in a working class family can foster a deeper sense of appreciation for money in children. As they age, problems and struggles also become a part of everyday- life, familiarizing children with skills to problem-solve and adapt accordingly. When they know that money can only be earned through difficulties, they will value merit-based efforts. Instilled with these values, they can develop effective money management skills that will undoubtedly be beneficial in their adult life. All in all, I believe that low-income families can raise children who are better adapted with adult problems. Although wealthy children could have had better resources growing up, children who did not grow up with as much money can have a higher chance to appreciate hard work.