In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In most nations, the public prefers buying a property instead of paying lease fees to the landlord. This essay will expound on the reasons for the phenomenon and state my views on why it is more beneficial. To begin with, residence ownership is seen as a symbol of stability and security. In other words, it is a way for people to put down roots in the community and represents a long-term asset. For example, most Chinese families own flats because they can provide a comfortable living situation for their children in the future. If the accommodation is rented from other parties, they would not have a sense of permanence. Moreover, purchasing a flat can offer financial benefits. Besides the chance of value appreciation, it can be re-mortgaged to the bank when the owner requires extra funds. As a result, residents in well-developed countries like Canada tend to own a house due to the uptrend in property prices. In my opinion, it is advantageous to own a flat because of the ability for better retirement planning. For instance, in Hong Kong, it is more difficult for the elderly to rent a flat because lack of salary proof. Therefore, having an everlasting place for home is important before a career departure. Additionally, the high cost of living may lead to a continuous upsurge in rental charges. Analysts in Hong Kong predict the rent will have a 5% increase on average in coming years, which will cause tenants to spend more in the long term. Thus, it is more worthy to own a property. In conclusion, the decision of renting versus buying a home is a significant consideration for people. Having a self-own accommodation enables financial flexibility, and also provides a comfort zone to individuals after their retirement. Hence, it is outweighed by renting a flat.