Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world-wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is commonly thought that we should be more conscious about the effects of the Internet in our social environment and interactions rather than seeing this source as a useful tool for communicating all around the world. The internet is an important resource for keeping in touch with our family members and friends on a daily basis, especially for those who work abroad and consequently they see less often their relatives. In addition, it can be a helpful tool for stimulating shy people to build social relationships online along with reducing the sensation of loneliness: a virtual connection would help many individuals connect with others and overcoming the fear of being alone. On the other hand, the phenomenon of technology has increased very quickly during this decade: for this reason, a plethora of individuals prefers online communication instead of a face to face contact; this situation could be dangerous for people's mental health because they could experience social anxiety disorders once they have to meet someone in person. Furthermore, social interactions are decreasing dramatically during these years because of the growth of several social media and dating apps which do not promote social relations at all. I believe that the Internet is a noticeable source when used with moderation: firstly, it helps many people to connect to others once moved to another city. There is a multitude of social apps for knowing several subscribers with the same interests in order to match easily together with events organised by online groups with the purpose to meet in the reality then. These are important instruments that allow people, such as expats, to overcome a sensation of emptiness and building new social environments in a new place. Secondly, Internet contributes to keep in touch with family members and friends: without this resource would be more difficult to reach every day our dears abroad, moreover, it is a free tool. For example, the social app called WhatsApp, permits to call and text without costs and this is a noticeable advantage for long calls from foreign countries. To conclude, technology has more positive aspects rather than negative effects in our community: if this resource would be used with awareness, it will help to interact with new social relations along with reducing a feeling of loneliness. I would recommend to get advantage of these options, just when it is needed in new circumstances such as moving to another country or for helping shy individuals to get in touch with others.