In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country, while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn. Discuss both views and give your opinion. (Reported 2017, 2019, 2020, 2022 Academic Test)

Many people argue that there should be a limitation in the maximum wage on high earners; others, however, believe that it should be a freedom for people to get the appropriate salary for their dedication. I agree with the second opinion. On the one hand, the idea of controlling salaries is attractive for several reasons. The first reason is avoiding society inequity that comes from the gap between upper and lower class income. For example, the distinction among human can lead to socioeconomic problems such as discrimination, unfairness and inequality in treatment. What’s more, the limitation in the average salary will contribute in reducing crime rates, offer more safety for the public. According to some studies, researchers have demonstrate that offenders are formed by the demand of equality that they do not have, so that, as a result, not having highly earners can tackle this issue. Nevertheless, I believe that society would suffer a brain drain if maximum wage legislation was adopted. Firstly, this action has a hand in pushing away top workers, if the salary does not meet the demands of these people, they will leave and work in a foreign company. This will cause a financial disadvantaged to the business, leading to the loss of a thousand dollars. In addition, the loss of intellectual property is also harmful to the country. This is due the shortage of breakthroughs or development as high quality labour force mitigate gradually and contribute to other regions. In conclusion, while there are some benefits regard setting a limit on the wages of the highest earners, I still believe that it is more disadvantages to this. It would have adverse impacts on both business and country’s economy.