In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether salaries should be capped at a certain level. While there are good reasons why the maximum wage should be implemented, I believe that employee remuneration should not be limited. On the one hand, it is understandable why some people are in favor promote over another favour of the enactment of a maximum wage. It is the governments’ responsibility to ensure the wealth is equally distributed in the countries. Without a limit on earnings, the pay-gap between the rich and the poor would be huge, and the hatred of the wealthy would be prevalent in the societies. Therefore, to eradicate the gap and poverty, the authorities need to introduce a “salary limit law”, and in this way, economic inequality would no longer exist, which leads to a more harmonious society. On the other hand, I agree with the argument that people who are highly paid would be beneficial to the countries. High salaries could be an incentive for the skilled or talented employees to work harder, and this usually brings to higher productivity. For example, to recruit the best programmers or engineers to work for them, technology companies are willing to pay for skilled workers with the highest salary. The societies could greatly benefit from the products invented by talented people as they improve the quality of our life, and these goods could also be exported to different countries, which resulted in a thriving economy. In conclusion, it seems to me that it would be better for governments not to set a limit on the wage of the highest earners in society.