Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Crime is a serious and growing problem in most countries. Although many people believe that the best way to deal with this is to send people to prison for a longer period, others are of the opinion that every crime occasion must be considered separately, taking into consideration the motivation and circumstances of the crime a fixed trial for various crimes. It is obvious that longer prison sentences will act as a deterrent for someone who is thinking of committing a crime. Thus, potential criminals might abstain from committing an offence if the punishment is severe. For instance, if there was a fixed punishment for a murder in an amount of 10 years, then it is very likely that a murderer will rethink his intentions. As a result, setting fixed punishments may lead to a reduction in crime rates. On the other hand, it might be fairer to take into account circumstances of every crime and judge them depending on it. Due to the reason that, it is undeniable that not all crimes are committed intentionally, and a criminal might just happen to be a victim of certain occasions. For example, one might commit and offence as a self-defence, or one might be mentally or psychologically ill. In these cases, the punishment must not be as strict as for those who broke the law on purpose. Thus, to avoid punishing innocent people, every case must be judged individually. In a summary, even though fixed punishments might have its advantages, I believe that every satiation must be considered separately, because every person has their own story of committing a crime. That is crucial for understanding the motivation for crime.