Write about the following topic. Internet social media have become very popular. To what extent do you think this is a good or bad thing? Why do you think this is the case? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Nowadays, social media on the internet becomes widespread among people. In my opinion, I totally agree with this statement, and I believe this trend has a positive impact on society because it is a cost-effective method and free censorship. I am convinced that social media has a tremendously good effect on the public. The reason is that the massive number of people participating on social websites. For example, Facebook is an effective way to connect people from all over the world and even can be used to call overseas friends. Another valid point is that social media could broaden the knowledge of people. This is because anyone around the globe can make friends from different cultural backgrounds. For instance, chat applications such as Facebook messenger can be used to know friends from very remote places and exchange with them the knowledge of their traditions and customs. There are several reasons for successful social media on the internet. Firstly, communication using social application has no cost or offer an affordable price. To illustrate, Viber application is a beneficial platform to call friends abroad free or even call cell phones at a low tariff. Secondly, most people can say their thoughts freely with any government supervision. This is because most of the newspapers are under the censorship of the authorities. To give a clear example, the majority of the youth is using social applications such as Facebook to express their opinions without restrictions. In conclusion, there is a sound effect of social media to exchange the cultures and making new friends. The main reasons are the cost factor and the freedom it offers society.