An increasing number of children are overweight which could result many problems when they grow older both in terms of their health and heath care costs. Why do you think so many children are overweight? What could be done to solve this problem?

Although Obesity has been known as one of the health issues for quite a long time, however, it has become synonymous among children in recent times. While it might not be alarming for many at a young age, however, it could have dire repercussions when they get older in terms of their health and health care expenditures. In this essay, I will illustrate the two main reasons why children are obese these days and what necessary actions can be taken to curb the situation. There are many underlying factors that are responsible for the increase in weight among youngsters. One of the predominant reason is the consumption of junk food. With the advent of marketing and commercials, people, especially teenagers, are indulging more into unhealthy options as they are convenient and cheap. Buying a McDonalds burger after school is more fulfilling for young ones than divulging into a salad or soup, which might be more than their pocket money. Additionally, technology advancement in every field, including Education has also soared the sedentary lifestyle among children where they spent hours in front of their laptops or iPads to finish school assignments. All these issues, even though, not done intentionally are leading to issues like overweight. Despite being present in our society for a long time, obesity is not inevitable and can be controlled if the right measures taken. First of all, schools and parents have to play an important role in making their kids aware of the health issues and the consequences they can face when they grow up because of eating junk food and slothful lifestyle. On the other hand, governments can levy the high tariffs on such unhealthy food items to reduce its purchase. And, the amount collected can be utilised in awareness campaigns and setting up recreational community halls for youngsters. To summarise, junk food and sedentary lifestyles are some of the factors which are causing obesity among young generations, however, if authorities and parents take the right measures, the situation can be controlled before it explodes into a bigger problem, avoiding any dire consequences among the overweight children when they grow up.