Obesity is a growing problem around the world. Why is this? What can be done about it?

Obesity rates have been increasing, leading them to become a world problem. This is because individuals tend to choose junk food that can negatively affect their body composition, and people can be encouraged to maintain their bodies by facilitating them with educational sessions to enhance their mindfulness. Most people have unbalanced diets and tend to consume unhealthy food, which results in obesity. They choose fast food that mainly contains high-fattening substances such as fat, sugar, and salt because they find it delicious and can be obtained more easily than making home-cooked food by using organic ingredients. For instance, in the U.S., fast- food restaurants have been growing extensively because they have a lot of customers and offer various products to them, which urges people to consume them. As a result, the number of obese people has significantly increased alongside the consumption of fast food. Moreover, raising campaigns about the drawbacks of obesity can be a viable option. In this way, individuals can be educated about the long-term impacts that can cause chronic diseases and bad eating behaviours, enhancing their awareness and slowly altering their habits. To exemplify, many communities in Indonesia have been appearing to share valuable insights about obesity and how to address it as they provide numerous engaging activities, including seminars, training, and more, which eventually help them maintain their bodies and can reduce the number of obese people. Thus, the more support and knowledge people can have, the more people care for their health, which is why educating them is crucial. To conclude, the high consumption of unhealthy food due to the existence of fast food restaurants steers away people from nutritious food, which leads to obesity. If they are provided with crucial information about obesity, they will better understand its importance and downsides to tackle it effectively.