These days there are a lot of TV channels available to view. Some people think it is good to have a range of option but others argue that it affects the quality of programs.

Recently there has been much interest in gaining a better understanding of the quality of TV channels. Some people feel that having a wide range of channels can have a demerit. However, I agree with those who are of the opinion that it is necessary to provide various TV program options. In this essay, I will provide the rationale for both viewpoints as well as adduce all the arguments which might support my own belief. Those who espouse the former opinion claim that people might lose interest in watching television due to bad quality of shows. The proponents of this view maintain that broadcast companies are producing more content to compete with others and as a result, these companies are not able to create content that captivates audiences due to time constraints. My friend Tina, is a shining example of this. She used to watch comedy shows throughout the day in her childhood. One day, she found that all the shows are created from the pre-created scripts rather than actual ability of the performer and before she knew it, she stopped watching television shows. However, one can argue that there is more to the story than this Tina's example tells. Personally, I firmly believe that people will develop interest as they have a wide range of options. Indeed, many different types of television channels are available, nowadays, namely food channel, science channel, cartoon channels. When those citizens come across to these channels, they can chose their favourite shows as per their own interests. Maybe there is some truth in this claim, and some empirical evidence can be provided to support it. For instance, a 2007 study conducted by a team of researchers at the University of Toronto found that society members are watching more television programs compared to the past as they can now personalized channels from many available shows. To sum up, although some folks might avoid watching tv due to inferior quality of contents, I still hold to the opinion that many can develop interest as they have the option to choose from range of tv channels.