Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us want to be and to look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

No one can deny the increasing influence of advertising in recent years. Some people put forward the view that their appearance could be the same because of advertising on the internet, TV or social network. I disagree this essay for several reasons. Firstly, one of the main culprits for the phenomenon is that employing celebrities to promote the brands of marketers. To be more specific, some young people are likely to mimic their idols on the advertising or TV from clothes to hairstyles in order to show admiration or catching trend. Consequently, they tend to purchase clothes or items as their idols do. What is more, advertising from well-known brands are likely to encourage customers to purchase their products because of their long-established reputation. Therefore, a lot of people will buy goods from the same manufacturers. For example, people often associate electric items with famous brands such as Toshiba, Sharp. However, this is only right for a certain group of customers On the other hand, there are numerous reasons why advertising can not make people alike. First of all, purchasing items depends on different people’s view and style. To be more specific, while some people only concern products’ quality, others prefer the shapes or patterns of the item. Thus, their interests will not be the same. What is more, financial condition assume an essential role in opting commodities. This is because the big gap between the rich and the poor in society nowadays. The wealth tends to purchase luxury, convenient items to serve their life while the poor consider them as a priceless thing. Take everything account, although I recognize that advertising can make people look the same in some way, I would argue that there are several other conditions that impact on peoples’ appearance.