Everybody should donate a fixed amount of their income to support charity. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, there has been a growing debate about mandating a set portion of individual earnings to charitable organizations. Many believe that this practice might create various benefits to society, while some argue that it leads to several drawbacks. In my opinion, I disagree with the statement due to numerous factors, which will be detailed in this essay. To commence, forcing citizens to donate has brought a myriad of disadvantages. The primary problem is a lack of personal choice. In other words, people should have the right to consider providing money for those who are in need, depending on their financial well-being, which absolutely reduces individual freedom. Moreover, such a practice disproportionately affects medium-income individuals, who might have more financial difficulties. For instance, allocating 5% of employees’ wages regardless of financial status criteria would cause average or low-income staff to be unable to utilize their earnings to enhance their living standard. On the other hand, there are many benefits from this implementation. Firstly, it fosters a culture of generosity, nurturing community spirit and a sense of responsibility, which leads to a better society’s well-being. As well as this, a decline in inequality in living conditions is another advantage, creating a bridge between socioeconomic groups. A good example of this is the law in diverse developed countries where the wealthy must pay higher taxes to help the homeless and underprivileged groups, promoting social welfare. In conclusion, while some may argue that giving a fixed portion of an individual’s income to non-profit companies gives rise to financial equality and community responsibility, I strongly disagree with such an opinion and believe that it would create various challenges, including a lack of citizen freedom and financial difficulty, particularly average residents.