In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is irrefutable that in many countries school pass out students are motivated to work or travel for a year, instead of continuing their higher studies. Such a dynamic practice will have positive as well as negative impact on the students. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of the above notion. To begin with, the indulgence of the students to the work or travel at their teenage will be lucrative for them to enhance their interpersonal skills and money management. Moreover, by approaching these youngsters to the practical world will inculcate the importance of an effective time utilization. For instance, the communication skills of the pupils would enhance by interacting with new people at their workplace or tourist destinations. As a result, the youngsters are likely to be extroverts. Such a practice is essential for the personality development of the teenagers and also it will helpful to them in their higher education. On the other hand, there are few potential threats to the pupils, while working at teenage without any exposure. The students in the workplace might get exploited due to lack of maturity. The innocence of them could put them into difficult situations during their travel. For example, the researchers had revealed from their survey that, many juveniles are the victims of the offences conducted by their firms. Thus, without a guidance of elders, these youngsters might have to face many hurdles during their work or travel. In conclusion, the new tradition of teenagers to work before their university studies consists of not only benefits, but also many drawbacks in their beginning of public life. The parents and tutors of this pupils should guide them to curb the threats of this practice.