Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is debatable whether students should opt for a major they are passionate about or select a more future -ready course, such as science and technology, for their tertiary education. While getting ready beforehand is one of the effective ways to be prepared for future work, I believe that having the ability to perform well academically, while enjoying time at the university, is more crucial. On the one hand, choosing a subject that will teach students future skills is believed to be a good approach to employment. This is because students will have adequate time to learn about the knowledge and skills taught. For instance, the Cambodian Ministry of Education has been implementing streaming program, in which students are categorised into two groups – natural and social science. Nonetheless, they encourage pupils to the former stream so that they can produce sufficient labour force to fill in the job vacancies in the future. However, I think that studying a major that one is passionate about would yield a better result than forcing him or her to pursue the opposite. On another hand, some others recommend students to choose whatever course they like. They believe that humans tend to do their best in what they like most. Provided a person is tasked to do a hard-to-achieve assignment, with a high passion and commitment, that person will achieve the task sooner or later. For example, Marie Currie had been into science since she was young. Although there were not many female scientists during her time, she managed to strive and was awarded two nobel prizes for her contribution to science. Thus, I believe interest matters the most when selecting a subject to pursue in tertiary education. In conclusion, although some may argue that it is important to choose a major that teaches future skills, I believe it is more crucial that students have the opportunity to learn something they are interested in and enjoy the process.