In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

The advent of the internet has enabled people to work remotely from home rather than commuting daily to work. Like most new technologies, this has some obvious benefits, but also some less obvious downsides, and both of these must be assessed. On the positive side, the ability to work from home gives a person more freedom. For one thing, they do not have to endure the daily commute, sitting in heavy traffic for hours each day as their stress levels rise just to sit in an office all day. Moreover, working from home allows a person to manage their own time. For example, some people like to work slowly and steadily, while some people like to work in short bursts. However, in an office environment, people are usually under pressure to make it seem like they are working even if they are not. On the other hand, it is often said that modern society leads to feelings of isolation and working from home might exacerbate this. Having no one around to chat with might actually make people more stressed and have worse effects on their mental health than working in an office. Not to mention, the internet has created a world of distractions that may be hard to resist if someone is sitting in their living room rather than in a cubicle. Furthermore, everyone who has ever tried to organize a conference call knows that face-to-face interactions are normally more time-efficient and productive than trying to communicate remotely. Overall, it seems that working from home is a mixed bag. The freedom of not having to come to a certain place to work each day is appealing, but human’s are social creatures and having everyone in their homes all day is probably not the best solution either.