Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It has been noted that an increasing number of individuals choose to be treated using alternative medicine as opposed to visiting a doctor in a hospital. I firmly believe that this is an adverse development since people who offer alternative medicine do not have licenses, insurance policies or advanced technology, making such medicine unsafe and ineffective. When people go for alternative medicine, they experiment with unique treatment methods that may not be available or popular in hospitals and clinics. However, the risk of trying alternative medicine is related to the lack of important documentation. In other words, self-proclaimed alternative doctors do not have any required licenses and do not offer any legal guarantees that their practices are safe. However, in conventional medicine, there is expert knowledge and insurance policies that protect the well-being of a patient. It is not only the problem of uncertainty that is related to alternative medicine but also the issue of lacking advanced tools to treat serious illnesses. For instance, cancer is treated using the most cutting-edge medical technology known to humankind, and only certain establishments have such equipment which tends to be quite expensive too. Alternative medicine does not have access to these inventions, which means in case of a severe disease, people still have to consult doctors in licensed entities. In conclusion, for the reasons of safety and access to the latest technological tools in medicine, people should favour using traditional healthcare. Opting for alternative options is a much more dangerous choice that may even have lethal consequences.