Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

It is felt by some that a person’s outward appearance can implicate a great deal regarding their background and character. In my opinion, although an individual’s clothing might reveal basic information about their ethnicity, it can certainly not be a valid factor in concluding one’s nature and value. Admittedly, certain attires carry automatic, public assumptions. For instance, someone wearing a religious robe is deemed to belong to a spiritual and devoted sect; likewise a woman in Saree is perceived to come from a traditional, Indian household. Nonetheless, these are all assumptions that ought not hold veracity. For instance, many fraudsters throughout the history have dressed as religious figures, besides announcing themselves as self-proclaimed saints and misleading people. In other words, their malicious character could be very well concealed from the innocent and naïve followers. Another point to consider is that our attires are greatly influenced by our professions, largely due to people spending one- third of their lives at work, To illustrate, people in full formal clothing are thought to have not only social importance and professionalism, but are also deemed to carry high standards, often being perceived as unapproachable by others. Nevertheless, such outward appearance is a compulsory office etiquette for many employees, with the majority of them having a laid-back, lively and down to earth personality. Another clear example would be the singers whose job require flashy, colourful clothes while on stage; despite their successful performances, majority report depression and anxiety. Hence, an attire cannot hold veracity of an individual’s true nature. In conclusion, I strongly agree that there is more to a person than meets the eye and while one’s dressing might allow room for speculation, it can certainly not be used as a valid criterion to assess an individual’s ethnicity nor character.