It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime is a direct influence of the increase in violence in media. To what extent do you agree with the above statement?

Some people believe that media play a major role to influence the young minds and as a result of that there is a sudden shot in teenager crime reports. In my opinion, I do not agree to this statement completely that it is not the sole reason to be blamed for. This essay describes how it influences young minds and why the media should not be held responsible for the rise in crime among them alone. To begin with the media, now-a-days youngsters receives a lot of information from television, newspaper, internet and other social media websites. Sometimes just to increase the TRP of the channel or programme they used to put unnecessary emphasis, rumours or use some other wrong methods. For instance - ATM looting and identity theft are suitable for this scenario. Secondly, there is circulation of some content on social media where they are breaking the rules in the name of adventure which excites the other young minds. For example -there was a video on the internet where two boys on motorcycle harassing the policeman. As explained earlier, it might be a lot of fun to those are watching and can provoke them to try this crime too. On the other hand, those who are raised in the unhealthy family atmosphere or lack of supervision they are more often indulge into unlawful activities. Such youths lack of lovable environment and moral values to show love, compassion and empathy furthermore our penalization acts for them is just like a warning rather than the punishments. Crimes in the slums are because of manipulation of young minds and lack of moral etiquettes. The Nirbhaya Rape case is the best evidence for the later one where one of the culprits was under age who got escaped from being punished by the law. As a result, without being exposed to media brutality, they don’t dither for lawbreaking. All in all, news coverage, police-based reality programs and social media might directly and indirectly influence the disproportionate treatment of minority youth, but no one can deny the importance of mental conditioning aspects of family while considering the accelerated criminality in the minors.