Some think that residents should be responsible for keeping their areas clean and tidy, while others says it is the government’s responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

You are part of where you live, as we say in Chinese. One who wishes to keep his or her home clean and tidy shall will love to see a clean and clear area where they live in. While the government has its responsibility to assume for keeping a residential area and its neighbouring environment clean and tidy, local people also shall contribute their share to make their shared but larger homes liveable. The government is responsible for and is surely very capable of keeping residential communities clean and comfortable. In addition to providing public transportation services, public security, managing hospitals and schools, governments, especially local governments, say, township administrations, shall provide the infrastructure that empowers a liveable residential area. Different from the everyday routines of cleaning a children's section in a block or collecting trash door to door, what governments can do is to regulate logistic contractors, sewage maintenance companies, among others, and develop as well as improve policies that will help keep communities more livable. To some extent, what governments can do to help keep residential areas livable is more macro. Individual citizens have their jobs to do on a more micro scale, compared with what governments can do, when it comes to keeping their areas clean and clear. True, residents pay tax to governments, yet it does not mean that they should do nothing and can do nothing to make where they live cleaner and clearer. An individual resident should first and foremost abide by the rules and regulations jointly created by residential panels regarding residential environment. When individual people living in the same building use less plastic packages, when people settle in the same block volunteer, from time to time, to clean public places within and near their block, these areas will be surely more friendly to us in return. To conclude, local governments and individual residents each have their jobs, the former at a more macro level while the latter at on a more specific scale, to keep our homes and hometowns clean, clear and comfortable.