In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is quite common these days in various nations, pupils are taking a break from their studies after graduating from high school and before beginning of tertiary education. This essay will elaborate the various merits and demerits of this trend. To begin with, one of the reasons of this migration is the recognition of knowledge that a student acquires apart from his routine academics. To elaborate, travelling before their University education will aid them in broadening their horizons. As a result, this expanded perspective enhances their range of experience towards the practicality of life. Moreover, employing during this period of interval, assist students to be financially independent by providing them various work opportunities, which will make them appreciate the value of money and hard work. On the flip side, scholars with an interval of a year, might find it strenuous to continue with their graduation studies as they would not be persistent towards the knowledge part of educational institutions. Furthermore, due to the immature behaviour of these learners, fortune in hand can motivate them to get indulged in unlawful activities, which can lead to failures in life. Apart from that, multinational companies are against accepting the employees with a gap year, which reduces the chances of employment and, therefore, this situation can diminish the confidence level among these students. For example, a well-known brand, TATA Consultancy, offers preference to students who are consistent in their secondary and tertiary training. All in All, students can gain invaluable know-how and acquire the skill of being independent with relation to money. However, earning affluent, in some scenarios, can prompt them to get involved in illegal tasks and can also result in discontinuation of their education learnings. Therefore, it is necessary to weigh the benefits against the drawback before coming to any conclusion.