Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature and history of their own country, rather than the literature and history of other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views on what should be taught to children at school. While some claim that studying national history is essential, others disagree by arguing that subjects related to the study of world history should be a part of the school curriculum. Personally, I agree with the former view for several reasons. There are many advantages for schools to focus on teaching national literature and history. Firstly, children enjoy learning about their motherland and usually find it easier to accept the ideas and by becoming more aware about the historical background of their nation they will start to develop a sense of identity. Secondly, the application of local past will make it easier for parents, who studied the same subjects at school to help their children understand it better. Therefore, teaching local culture and history at the academy will help children know more about where they live and encourage parents to spend more time with them. However, the application of foreign history can cause some unnecessary difficulties for children at the institute. There is no point in teaching the past of other countries to children who haven’t yet studied the history of their own country. For example, it is useless to present European history to an Asian child who hasn’t grasped on local history and literature. This can also cause some difficulties for children since the acquisition of foreign past and literature will require them to learn another language or to make some translation which creates unnecessary tasks for students. Children who haven’t yet learned basic subjects will find it hard to research at primary university. In conclusion, I believe that it would be impractical for schools to teach foreign history and they should instead focus on the historical and cultural background of their won country.