Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, the life expectancy of a human being has been increased due to better health care and innovation in technology. Some people argue that retirement age should be altered because many people are living longer. But in my view, I believe that this move will bring more unemployment and lesser number of young brains to work force. This essay will discuss the scenario mentioned above. Firstly, there are many developing countries like India who’s already battling with the growing unemployment problem. In such condition, increasing retirement age will certainly slow down the promoting hierarchy which ultimately reduces the chances for creating new vacancies. For example, when a person retires, it creates a void which can only be filled by promoting people up towards the table, thus creating a new job opening at the bottom of the table. On the other hand, employing new and young brains to the workforce is what any organization needs to accelerate in their business. They have the capability to think out of the box. Moreover, they are filled with energy, modern thinking and confidence. For instance, companies who hire more young people have shown a tremendous increase in their productivity and utility. They are well prepared to face challenges in this growing competitive world. To conclude, I totally agree with the fact that the retirement age for people should not be raised because it will deprive new generation to establish them self in the cooperate life. Furthermore, economic growth would be faster if it’s running on to the shoulders of young blood.