Young people often have idea or attitudes that are different to those their parents and grandparents. How do ideas and attitudes differ between generations ? Do you think these differences cause any problem?

There is a wide disparity in attitudes and the thinking pattern of the youth and the old generation. The primary difference is the young population owes a lesser consideration regarding the culture and the heritage. This tendency has a negative impact on own values and languages, creating them to degrade from the community. To begin with, youngsters do not deploy a significant focus regarding the preservation of the culture and the heritage. In fact, they do not wear cultural clothings, or follow customs and traditions, in contrast to the old generation, who values and accepts these things to a great extent. Thus, the most of young people learn English, as their main tongue nowadays, compared with their parents and grandparents, who adhered with the native tongue. As a result the youth does not reflective of their own culture. For an instance, in Sri Lanka, the young crowd hardly conducts rituals and wear traditional outfits during Awrudu day, which is one of the imperative national festival in the country, and during the past, older individuals strictly obliged with the traditions and customs of this day. Furthermore, this potential has detrimental influences on the culture and the native dialect. In fact, when the upcoming generation is not concerned about the preservation of their own heritage, the cultural value is slowly degrading, and the mother tongue is at the risk of the extinction due to the decrease in the number of learners. Therefore, the uniqueness and the dignity, which is created by the culture and the heritage is diluting. For an example, a survey done in Sri Lanka has revealed that the majority of youngsters do not follow Sinhala literature, and hence, the most does not aware regarding the correct grammar usage of Sinhala language. In conclusion, the youth deploys lesser amount of concern regarding sustaining the own culture, traditions and the native tongue, in contrast to their parents and grandparents, who dedicated in saving them. This likelihood is undesirable in prevailing these values, and leading them to disappear from the society in the future.