in some culture the parents arrange marriage for their children but in others people choose their own marriage partner. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each system?

Marriage has always been an interesting topic to talk about. There are some people who argue that parents should unilaterally determine their children's partners while some argue that one should make his/her own decision when choosing a life partner. I personally think that the advantages of choosing our own partners outweigh the disadvantages. It is undeniable that there are some reasons why an arranged marriage is beneficial. Firstly, parents will have the highest standard when it comes to choosing their kids' life partner. Consequently, their children will end up to be with someone who has exceptional qualities. Secondly, parents have lived longer than their children. Thus, they will have more knowledge and experience in selecting the potential candidates. However, the downside is that there may be a condition where the children are not truly fond of these chosen partners. On the other hand, if someone determines his/her own partners, it can be guaranteed that he/she loves the person wholeheartedly, and it will be a strong foundation to start a marriage. In addition, each person will know what type of qualities they need in their partners, and hence they can choose someone truly based on what they need. However, the downside is that sometimes it is very difficult to see the bad things in a person when we are so in love with them. Therefore, a big admiration and attachment can become a double-edged sword. In conclusion, although I think there are some benefits to arranged marriages, I am of the opinion that people should choose their own partners, as they need to get married to someone whom they truly love and someone whom they need.