In many cities an increaing number of people do not knowtheir neighbours and there is a lack of sense of community. What are the causes of this problem? How can it be solved?

While one of the basic needs of human beings is social activity, by increasing the population, neighbours have become more strange to each other, especially in big cities. This essay discusses the causes of this problem and suggests some solutions. Growing cities and increasing population decrease communication among neighbours. They not only do not know each other but also they do not help others, even in emergency situations. For instance, I saw a documentary last month. It was about an old woman who died in her house and nobody found out in the neighbourhood. When her daughter wanted to visit her, she found her body. The doctor said she died 20 days ago. It was a sad story and obviously, if the old woman had a friend in the neighbourhood, she might be alive now. Although people nowadays are busy with their lives, they should pay more attention to their neighbours, especially the elderly and pregnant women. There are so many vulnerable people who live around us. It is really important to know them and help them in the emergency situations. Young people should take steps and start a relationship by saying a simple hello or having a small conversation. They could bring some food for a pregnant woman and make her happier. Also, they could help the elderly with their housework. Although it is a big help for the neighbours, it makes them feel more alive. In conclusion, Although with increasing the population, neighbours do not know each other, it is essential that young people take steps and communicate with others, especially people who are more vulnerable.