It is too expensive to look after and repair old buildings. This money should be spent on building modern buildings instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the maintenance work of the historical architecture requires a lot of money which should be otherwise spent on constructing new structures. From my perspective, I completely disagree because buildings from the ancient times holds a historic importance and also aid in the economic growth as they promote tourism. First and foremost, prehistoric buildings in each place are representative of the culture of the corresponding period. In addition, these structures are expensive and unique in its style, and it is important to preserve them because they signify the ancient era of human civilization. If they are not preserved, they will eventually fade away and an important information about the history of evolution will be lost. The Stonehenge in England, for instance, which is an ancient monument which is now eroding, was specifically built for a solar calendar. Thus, these infrastructures should be maintained otherwise, the future generations would be clueless about the past. Nevertheless, these ancient marvels have a significant aspect in the local history, they attract the international tourists and help in the financial growth. To illustrate this, the ruins of the Greek Gods in the Athens has become the top tourist destination in the Greece in the last few years. Consequently, the Greek government earns millions of dollars every year, and in return some of the money is spent on the maintenance work of that place. Henceforth, it is imperative for governments to allocate funds for the upkeep of these structures. To sum up, we ought to consider the importance of ancient buildings as they not only represents the cultural heritage of a nation, but they also help the society to grow economically because of tourism.