The prevention of health care and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflcet this. To what extent do you agree?

In the past few months, due to the unexpected Coronavirus outbreak, health care systems have been pushed to their limits. As a result, governments all around the world are increasing their funding in order for hospitals to be operational. But, should these funds be used to prevent these situations. I personally feel that, this view would be profitable to an extent for most countries. This write up will attempt to debate the above opinions. Firstly, by being cautious about your health, by taking extensive test and being closely monitored, you lower your chances of suffering from a deadly disease. While this is not possible for all illnesses, it could probably decrease the percentage of people in the population, that would need extensive care. To illustrate, if most people that have cancer realised it in its first stages, they would maybe avoid chemotherapy, reducing the government’s expenditure on therapies. Lastly, some countries has tried to implement measures for preventing such as the sugar tax in the UK and have seen a positive outcome. Regarding funds spent on treatments and medicine, secondly, there should be an adequate amount available. The reason being, that while we can prevent some illnesses and find ways to exterminate them, some are impossible to treat. This means that extensive care and medication must be offered for these people to survive. For example, from my own experience, my granddad had a stage 1 lung cancer, but due to his age it could not be stopped, so he had experience therapies for several years, until he passed away. Finally, while being cautious is easy for some individuals, not all of them can comply. In conclusion, if the governments pointed their funds in preventing there could perhaps be a decrease in illnesses. But, it's my firm belief that, in our society's structure this is impossible to achieve.