In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

The use of payment apps is becoming more popular in different countries around the globe. This essay discusses why the benefits of this phenomenon, such as convenience and safety, surpass the drawbacks of individuals sometimes having technical difficulties. The first merit of using bank applications instead of physical cash is that it is more convenient for people. This is because carrying just one piece of equipment instead of a bunch of cedules and coins is more practical for most people's lifestyles. For example, many individuals have stopped carrying physical money because they may need more than what they have on hand. Therefore, when people opt for paying apps they have more flexibility to spend the amount they need or want. Moreover, it is safer to use phone apps instead of physical money. This is due to the security installed into these applications, in case they end up in the wrong hands, while cedules can be easily lost or stolen. For instance, new studies say that travellers who carry physical cash are eight times more susceptible to getting robbed. In comparison, people who only get their cellphones robbed often lose less money, due to apps ' cryptography security. However, there is also a downside to using mobile applications as the major payment method. This is the difficulty that individuals sometimes experience when no internet is available. Officers usually recommend travellers carry a bit of cash in case their mobile data runs out or their phones' batteries shut down. If this happens, people may find themselves in a different country without any monetary resources, which can cause serious issues and time wasted. In conclusion, the main merits of using bank apps as a payment method such as the practicality and the security, outweigh the negative aspect of people sometimes having technical problems due to internet connection or running out of battery. Furthermore, these issues can be solved by looking for free wifi establishments and also, carrying portable charges in case needed.