‘Everybody should donate a fixed amount of their income to support charity.’ How far do you share this viewpoint?

Nowadays, some people earn a huge ton of salary and some earn a limited number of salary through which they can survive their day to day life. It seems to me that people who have high salaries should donate a fixed chunk every year or month to the charity and who are truly working hard for the soul's of other people. Starting with the needs of everyday life, we can observe that people who earn a significant amount of money, sometimes spend it on the things which they use only one time and after some days become a piece of garbage. Instead, if they donate that cash to the people who need it for food, shelter and its important needs. There is some orphanage for children to whom we can provide for example, toys, books, clothes and many other things which can bring a smile on their face. To end with, there is some old age home, the people who are being abandoned by their own children, providing them money and things they need can make them feel proud sometimes that there are humans in this world who care about them. It is true that those people who earn money, do the hard work and have a right to spend it on themselves and their loved ones in spite of this, according to my point of view providing a small supply would not bring a huge difference in their growth. To conclude, sometimes doing a charity can make you feel that, humanity is still alive. Consistently, most of the people will not donate on their own, to give you an idea, if it becomes a rule of the company to automatically cut off from their salary a fixed amount for donation many people would live a normal and happy heart.