Many people think that zoos are cruel. Others think they are helpful in protecting rare animals. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

ZOOS ARE EVERYWHERE IN THE WORLD. THEY PLAY AN IMPORTANT ROLE FOR ANIMALS. IT IS ARGUED BY SOME PEOPLE THAT IT IS A CRUELTY FOR ANY ANIMAL TO LIVE IN A ZOO WHILE, OTHER THINK THAT IT PRESERVE ENDANGERED SPECIES. LET US DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS FOR BETTER UNDERSTANDING BEFORE GIVING AN OPINION. ON THE ONE HAND, ANIMALS WHICH LIVE IN A ZOO LOOSE THEIR NATURAL HABITAT. IN OTHER WORDS, THEY CANNOT FEED ON PLANTS AND ANIMALS TO SURVIVE THEMSELVES. MOREOVER, ZOOS HAVE LIMITED SPACE FOR A SINGLE ANIMAL AND THEY ARE LOCKED UP IN CAGES WHERE THEY STRUGGLE TO MOVE FROM ONE PLACE TO ANOTHER. FOR EXAMPLE, GORILLA IS A GIANT ANIMAL WHICH NEED A BIG AREA FOR THEIR MOVEMENT. THAT’S THE REASON WHY SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT ZOOS ARE CRUEL. HOWEVER, ZOOS PLAY THE BIGGEST ROLE TO PROTECT ENDANGERED SPECIES. TO BE CLEAR, THEY PRESERVE ANIMALS FROM POACHERS AND NATURAL DESTRUCTION SUCH AS FLOOD AND ACID RAINS. NOT ONLY, THEY ARE PROTECTED FROM DANGER BUT ALSO, THEY ARE WELL TREATED BY PROFESSIONAL ZOOKEEPERS. DESPITE THAT, MEDICAL CARE IS PROVIDED BY THESE PLACES. FOR INSTANCE, VETERINARIANS CHECK THEM WEEKLY. IN THIS WAY, ANIMALS LIVE LONGER. FURTHERMORE, BREEDING PROGRAMMES ARE RUN BY THESE AREAS TO INCREASE THEIR NUMBER SO THAT, THEY WILL NOT FACE EXTINCTION. THUS, ZOO IS A VERY HELPFUL PLACE FOR THEM. TO CONCLUDE, AFTER DISCUSSING BOTH STATEMENTS ADVANTAGES OF LIVING IN ZOOS FOR ANIMALS OUTWEIGH THE DISADVANTAGES. IN MY OPINION, ZOOS ARE VERY HELPFUL PLACES FOR ENDANGERED SPECIES TO PRESERVE THEM FROM DISASTERS ALTHOUGH, THEY DO NOT HAVE WILDLIFE.