Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern days, the environment needs great improvement and attention, which should be concern of not only people but also companies and government. This requires a lot of resources, so it is argued who can and should be responsible for changes. I believe, that government must be the main participant in this, because it has great power and resources for altering the situation. First and foremost, society dealt distinguished damage to nature, which is not easy to mend. To change the situation we need to stop neglecting our duties of caring for our surroundings, and government or, as an alternative, corporations should take the upper hand in this process, since they had a noteworthy ability to control public opinion on this matter. For example, there could be more TV programs about current environmental problems. In addition, the government has a lot of funds to spend. While one person or group of people does not have enough money, countries have many funds and ways to improve the environment. Law authorities, for instance, can increase taxes for factories which pollute the nature, or oblige companies and individuals to pay more attention to the pollution, recycling and usage of natural resources. Moreover, educational institutes must be responsible for educating both minors and adults providing with true information on the matter of environment changes. In conclusion, although aforementioned methods are only a few of all the possible ways, it is fair to say that the government has much more power to change the situation and improve our surroundings.