The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to spoken legally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of learning one language in the world

Tourism has revolutionized the world and has led to an increased prominence for the English language. Some people believe that this will lead to English becoming the single language spoken legally. This essay will discuss the main benefits and drawbacks of having a single universal language. On the one hand, the emergence of a global language can give humanity several benefits. One of the main advantages is that it will reduce the gap between the countries as there is no communication barrier. People can talk with each other easily. They need neither translations nor interpreters. It also helps to improve the inter-country relationship. As a result, international trades such as the importing and exporting of goods will increase and benefit the growth of the economy around the globe. Furthermore, English helps people to travel around the world without experiencing any difficulties. Many tourists find it hard to communicate with the native people for their simple needs such as asking directions, ordering food, etc. These issues will be solved if there is only one language. On the other hand, there are certain drawbacks to using the same language. Firstly, one problem with using a single language worldwide is the erosion of other languages and their associated cultures. Language and culture are inextricably linked. Language is a part of every culture. Unique words in every language help identify cultural artefacts and ideas of a culture. If everyone spoke one language, the other local languages will disappear gradually. Then, there would be no cultural diversity. Furthermore, one of the main reasons that attract tourists to other countries is that their cultural differences. If everyone has the same culture, there is no meaning in visiting other places. So this trend can have negative impacts on the tourism industry. In conclusion, a single universal language is definitely beneficial for every country and improves the relationship among them, but it is certainly detrimental to the local language and damages the local culture in the future.