More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why?Who benefit more from this, the community or these young people?

There has been an ongoing trend of many young people from prosperous nations deciding to spend their time doing volunteer work in underprivileged countries. Some of the prominent reasons for this phenomenon will be discussed, before the benefits of both individuals and developing countries are analysed. There are several main reasons of why younger citizens usually chose this practice. Firstly, since unpaid task in poor countries would be a comparative advantage for the young when applying for a job in the future. As a result, in the fierce and competitive job market, a candidate possessing an application file accompanied by only great scores could not be the ideal one that a recruiter is found, therefore he or she needs outstanding volunteering experience, which is able to compete with other rivals. Secondly, another reason that is worth mentioning is that younger generations could engender the feeling of community when participating in unpaid job. Their voluntary efforts help to give prominence to the value of sharing and the sense of social responsibility to secure improved humanity and international awareness about disadvantaged places. In addition to benefits for younger people, the poor society also received lots of support. First, since after stage of volunteer, they would be received a lot of experiences that not only bring the volunteers unforgettable life lessons but also help expand their network of relationships. As a result, they gradually grow more mature and confident, realizing the diversity of life by getting to know many walks of people. Then, in regard to poorer countries, they may have a chance to raise the living standards of their dwellers. For instance, knowledge related to environment protection or health care which they have acquired from overseas volunteers possibly improves their living conditions afterwards. To sum up, the requirement of more competitive profile and the determination to support financially disadvantaged countries are the two principal elements that make young people join a wide range of voluntary activities. I would contend that both the volunteers and the community are the beneficiaries of the practice above.