Some people believe that advertising manipulates consumers into buying unnecessary products. Discuss the reasons why advertising can be so powerful and what measures can be taken to protect consumers.

It is believed by a section of society that advertisements do influence customers towards purchasing non-essential items. The reasons why advertisements are rather potent are research and limited-time offers whereas this trend can be tackled by making people aware of tactics used and constructing a regulatory department for it. This essay will delve deeper into these causes and measures in the impending paragraphs. To begin with, there are multifarious reasons why some people assert that advertisements are powerful enough to make consumers buy unnecessary products. Foremost, since the production of ads contains many steps, research and surveys are the most considerable ones. This is because before finalizing a market plan, consumers’ emotional and behavioural factors have been noted so that experts can target these in their ads. For example, the marketing of hair products mostly contains a fear factor of losing confidence, which makes people use any kind of product without considering its worth. Hence, ultimately they may face the dire consequences of these as well as waste a hefty amount of their hard-earned money. In addition, companies mostly publish time-bound offers with huge discounts in order to lower the thought process of customers to make wise decisions about whether they require the product or not. Nevertheless, such a phenomenon can be handled well by responding appropriately. Primarily, the very first measure can be making aware of people the techniques used in ads to influence them. The UK government, for example, initiated media literacy programs in March 2022; owing to which they educate people on how to recognize the false and enticing methods used in marketing. Surprisingly, 2 out of 10 customers started showing responsible behaviour while shopping in the same year. Moreover, a regulatory board can be another method to reduce the power of publicity. If there is the existence of a legal body with fines and taxes, companies may put off their needless offers and time limits on buying. Thus, it will be eventually beneficial for consumers to be wise. To conclude, although advertisements can coerce buyers to buy needless products, adequate measures can reduce the impact of appealing ads as well as protect the decision-making of consumers.