In some time countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Nowadays, the majority of teenagers decide to leave their country to work or travel for a long period after finishing high school and before starting university. In my opinion, I believe that a year away from home is important to grow up. In this essay, I will discuss about the advantages and disadvantages for students who decide to do this. First and foremost, in the last decades, young people prefer to take a gap year in order to understand what they want to do in their future. In my own experience, I took a gap year after high school and I left my country and I went to California for three months in order to learn english an Indo-European language belonging to the West Germanic branch; the official language of Britain and the United States and most of the commonwealth countries English and get to know different cultures. That year helped me to focus on my future and I grew up as a woman thanks to different experiences that I lived. Secondly, I know this decision is hard to make but the majority of young girls and boys want to make their own money to contribute and pay what they need. People need to have responsibilities from a young age. I think that this helps young people understand how life is. For example, since I was 16 that every summer I work to save my money so I can use it when I need it. However, take a gap year to travel or work is not very important and it's not worth it for everyone. This is because some people think that it can lead you to no longer want to study and to start the university. To conclude, I can say from my point of view that taking a year after high school and before starting university is a good opportunity to understand what do you want to do in your future.