What are the advantages and disadvantages for children of television.

Television is a basic necessity in today's contemporary world. It helps us connect to the outside world as well as provided entertainment. However, it has a number of pros and cons for the children, which the essay intends to discuss. Firstly, the telly assists in cultivating good manners among kids. To cite an example, there are numerous cartoons as well as shows that emphasize the importance of keeping our surroundings clean. In addition to this, several ads on the tv are about saving water and maintaining personal hygiene. When these are viewed by the children, they adopt good etiquettes and become responsible citizens of tomorrow. Secondly, a lot of programmes on television are informative, which can enhance a child's knowledge and creativity. For instance, the national geographic can be a huge source of information for the young minds. Furthermore, various art and craft shows are also broadcasted, which can encourage the minors to be innovative and be passionate. Since, these shows often organise online competitions, where the viewers can submit their paintings and win prizes, it encourages them to explore different ideas. On the other hand, increasing number of children today, lead sedentary lives, due to this idiot box. For example, they prefer spending 95% of their free time watching telly, instead of being involved in physical activities such as outdoor games, which ultimately leads to obesity and other health problems. To illustrate this, a research conducted in 2015 by WHO depicted that, 90% of kids who watched TV for more than 20 hours a week, had borderline obesity and eye problems. To conclude, the television set can be a boon or a curse for the young ones, depending on their use. On the good side, it can inculcate good habits, boost their imagination and increase their knowledge, whereas on the bad side, it can deteriorate their health. Therefore, if parents and guardians take proper precautions and set limited time for the kids to watch television, it can truly prove to be a blessing.