Crime rates will fall as advances in technology make it easier to detect and prevent crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s era of Artificial Intelligence’s advancement in many aspects of our lives, there are still criminals around the world. Many people believe, that to reduce the crime rates, we need to make good use of the available technology for crime prevention and detection. While there are some advantages to use these kinds of tools, I believe the government should also consider the root causes of criminality such as economic injustice that the use of high-tech surveillance is not able to touch. To begin with, there are several countries around the world that are going to use high technology for crime prevention. In their opinion, the omnipresence of surveillance technology in public and private spaces can discourage people from committing crimes due to the high risk of being caught. For example, from the latest news, the United States is developing drones that will be flown in the skies to help the police institution. However, the procurements and application of technologies to detect and prevent crimes are numerously expensive. Moreover, the use of smart-surveillance cameras is a disputable notion regarding the privacy of citizens. While technology has made significant progress, it cannot address the root causes of criminal behaviour such as poverty and social inequality. A lot of people, believe the government should be able to use some of the high-tech budget to solve the social economy issues such as affordable education and healthcare for all. Therefore, the crime rates can be automatically decreased without reducing the citizens' freedom. In conclusion, the usage of technology is not the best solution to reduce the crime rate, because it doesn’t solve and mitigate the main reasons for some people become criminals. The government should put more effort and programs which focus on citizens’ prosperity rather than depend on the cameras.