In recent years, many small local shops have closed because consumers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In recent times, the pattern of shopping amongst the people has drastically changed. The local shops are eradicated from the market; and replaced by the large shopping malls in the public’s shopping preferences. Such a change has both bright and dark sides, which will discuss in the following paragraphs. To begin with, the mega malls are availing innumerable range of products to the customers and elevating their standards of living. Larger shopping centres are satisfying all the needs of the consumers at a single destination. Such a dynamic method of business is not only satisfying its customers, but also generating many employment opportunities. Moreover, the attractive discount offers are provoking many consumers. Hence, the customers and shopkeeper both are benefited. For example, the mega malls offer variety of goods at discounted rates, hence the people are benefited by having more goods in their limited budget. Thus, the large malls play vital role in improving the public lifestyle. On the other hand, the declining local shops are portraying many serious threats to the society, such as weaker economy, unemployment and poverty. Although, the shopping malls are tempting for the buyers, the adverse effects of it are influencing the whole society. Overall, the mall culture is promoting materialism to the people. For instance, many handicraft, small scale businesses of rural regions of India have been disappearing due to the mall culture and materialism. Hence, the change in shopping patterns of the people has a detrimental effect on the domestic economy. In conclusion, the shopping habits of the people are influenced by the large shopping malls, which consists of both positive and negative effects. The government has to form policies of the sustainable business opportunity for the small shops.